Miami Beach Council of the Blind

The Miami Beach Council of the Blind is a new chapter of the Florida Council of the Blind. However, we are off to a running start. We are working along with local organizations such as the Miami Lighthouse, the Miami Beach Disability Access Committee and Power Access to promote our common goals of accessibility and awareness. By promoting projects like the city’s Audible Pedestrian Signal program and local events such as Ability Explosion, we have had much success in furthering those directives.

We have the support of the entire community and look forward to bringing awareness to our neighbors near and far.


The Miami Beach Council of the Blind meets the third Thursday of each month from 6:30 to 8:00 at the Bass Museum of Art located at 2100 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, 33139.

We enjoy speakers from such organizations as Disability Rights Florida, The Arsht Center for the Performing Arts and Broward 211. We welcome new members and guests.

If you would like to join our mailing list or join our chapter, contact President Anthony Corona or 757-920-0455.

We highlight new technologies at our meetings and invite those in the community who are implementing new modalities to make our lives easier such as VH Pharmacy who is now using Script Talk Station. It uses RFID labels that enables us to hear prescription labels.

We have field trips to the Arsht Center for the Performing Arts to take advantage of their audio described performances and touch tours.

Some initiatives that we have begun recently include the printing of the very first “Cooking without Looking” cookbook from the original TV show. This book will be available in large print as well as audio CD.

We have also worked with the Miami Beach Police Department and ABC local news to bring attention to the Florida White Cane Law through an operation on our roadways which was aired on prime time television.


Anthony Corona
(757) 920-0455

1ST Vice President
William Rivera

2ND Vice President
David New

Susana Maroder-Rivera

Roberto Perez

Immediate Past President
George Robinson

Board Representative
Gabriel Lopez Kafati